‘Harry Potter!’ – J K Rowling’s Spell on us ;)

What will you do if some day you find such a letter addressed to you, at your door?

My dream Letter 🙂

My question clearly is to the Potter fans. I’d swoon! 😛

In between my search for good books Harry Potter fell into my hands. Of course it’s famous now. But there was a time when it was just on its path to glory. That was when I happened to get a copy of it.

The first part of the first book wasn’t all that great, but as I read further it was magic in its real sense. I’ve never come across anything else so beautiful or so involving.

Those who haven’t read the book believe it’s childish, not worth the time, useless fiction, mad man’s land :D. But I’ve never felt anything childish about it. In fact I loved the way JKR depicted the war between good and evil, love and power. How can that ever be childish?

Considering the fictional part, It is true that magic doesn’t exist, a school of magic doesn’t exist. It’s all our imagination. But reading it, I appreciate the way she’s made it so realistic, relatable and simply perfect! The way she has threaded and interconnected every character – to be specific, what surprised me was the part were Sirius’s name is mentioned just once in the first part and it is in the third part that we get to know he has such a great role to play. How well planned that should’ve been?

It takes you to a different world, away from reality. What is wrong with that? Even movies do that to you! Though for a shorter period. Ultimately if we enjoy what we do and if it isn’t harmful, if it lets us forget our fears, relaxes us, if it takes us away from reality (For which people resort to much harmful measures), does it make a difference just because it’s fiction?

Every spell she created had a meaning, every name she allotted to the characters had a reason. Every clue and writings -from the mirror of ‘erised’ which is desire spelt reverse to the writings that appear on the golden snitch in the seventh part – has a meaning. Hang on! Did you ever think that the first golden snitch would’ve had such a role to play?

Did you ever think of a Snape who loved Lily?

What moved me the most was, ‘Your mother died to save you. If there is one thing Voldemort cannot understand, it is love. He didn’t realize that love as powerful as your mother’s for you leaves its own mark.Not a scar, no visible sign…to have been loved so deeply, even though the person who loved us is gone, will give us some protection foever. It is in your very skin.’
How subtle and simple!

 

 

I read it many times. I don’t have the personal copy (I wanted them badly, but unfortunately didn’t get). Each time I read the series, I discovered something new. It made me wish magic was real, that Harry, Ron and Hermione were real, that my school was Hogwarts and that my house was Gryffindor.

The book in itself is platform 9 ¾ and the Hogwarts express. The muggles never believe it. Those who believe it are the witches and wizards 😉 (You know what I’m).

The book is a Portkey 😉 It glows blue each time I see it & when I touch it, I get transported.

JKR has made it that perfect. It isn’t a book. It’s a wand. It’s her spell 😉

6 thoughts on “‘Harry Potter!’ – J K Rowling’s Spell on us ;)

  1. Well said… That book is an epic, and am gonu buy a copy of all the books some day 😉

    To Rowling and HP, and to you for writing this post 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment