Lonely and friendless I sat then
less than six years was I when,
my mom had gone to get me a friend,
someone for me forever till the end…
She returned after a while,
held her arms out with a smile,
there lay a beautiful puppy curled
-a snowy, cute little pearl…

She had come into our home and straight into my heart
I beckoned her to me – our friendship’s start.

She jumped on me, I sat on her
She chased me , & I chased her
She licked my cheeks & I caressed her
Fun was all we had together

Six months later…

Time had distanced us and pulled us apart
I returned & called out for her with all my heart
Four strong paws came running with glee
And the next moment, she was on me…
She clung to me and woofed aloud
she ran around my legs to show her love
She licked my face wet and neat
She was happy to see me  indeed..

Year after year, after my holidays I returned
Each time she aged, and older she turned..
After one such stay with her
I went to say goodbye to her

She silently approached me and sat before me
She looked into my eyes with hers, black and beady
She looked weaker than ever before
I was pained to see the sorrow her eyes bore..

She could no longer leap on me
& so,gently placed her paws on my knee
She licked my cheeks once or twice
and stared unblinkingly into my eyes..

It was her language of farewell to me
I caressed and kissed her and left in a hurry
Not knowing when we`ll meet again
But knowing that our hearts couldn`t bear the pain

Many more months passed before I returned
I opened the gates and called for my friend
listening for the sound of her paws I waited ,
Silence answered… It was all that reverberated

I called for her with all the strength in me
None placed her paws on my knee
None came to lick my cheeks
None came and ran about my legs

None came and stared into my eyes
None answered my silent cries
An empty kennel, a longing heart
None said to me about the missing part

Silently she entered my life
Twelve long years she stayed there
One fine morning, she left the place
and now a garden of memory remains

Lonely and friendless I sit now and then,
And, remember that summer evening when
My mom went out to get me a friend
Someone for me, forever till the end…

                        …In my heart…

Dedicated to my most faithful friend ever!