10 Days 4 Things  – Day 4

Four Movie Recommendations; each of them in a different language.

I am not much of a movie fanatic and so, in a regular conversation, I fail to catch the movie references most often. Before I watch a movie, I make sure that I do my homework. I want the movie to be worth my time & money.

According to me, a movie should be entertaining or have a strong message. Lesser the loopholes, the better and it should be well wrapped up without much of loose ends. Yes! I am a picky movie goer. The point here is, coming from me, you can confidently watch these four movies and I guarantee that for most of you, it won’t be a waste of time. In case of the rest, there are always exceptions right?😉

1. 12 Angry Men (English) – Released in 1957, I haven’t come across anything else to beat this movie, during these years. It speaks to the audience in the simplest of ways.

A teenage boy stabs his father and is tried at the court. His life is dependent on the decision taken by a 12 member jury. A look at the facts of the case, and any of us would say that the boy was guilty. And so, all the jurors vote him guilty, except for one.


Apart from a unique story line, the specialty of the movie lies in the fact that almost the entire movie happens inside the jury room. There are no names given to the characters except for a brief exchange of names towards the end. It is a very interesting piece of work that conveys a strong message. Do watch it if you haven’t already. A movie that you’ll never forget and never regret watching.

2. Madrasapattinam (Tamil) – A 2010 Tamil movie alternating between the present (2010) & around the time of Indian Independence, it begins with an Old English woman wanting to come to Indian in search of a man named Ilam Parithi, she had last seen in 1947. Her grand-daughter accompanies her and they go around Chennai with nothing but his photo taken around 50 years back and his name.

They go around in loops, come to dead ends & the people pretending to help them have eyes only for the ‘tourist’s’ money. Meanwhile, the story occasionally gives us the glimpse of the flashback where the couple meets just before Independence, fall in love & circumstances split them.

Image result for madrasapattinam
Image courtesy: prokerala.com


The movie strikes a chord in our hearts as they depict the couple’s love in spite of the language barriers. It is supported with ample humor and highlights some of the then superstitions, giving it a touch of reality.

3. Ennu Ninte Moideen (Malayalam) – I have this phobia of movies that release with lots of hype. It started with Thattathin Marayathu. Mollywood & Nivin Pauly lovers almost kill me when I say I hated that movie. I watched it due to all the hype & it wasn’t worth it. From then on, I don’t go for movies that seem promising at first. Hence, I wasn’t bent upon watching Bangalore Days, Bahubali, Premam, Ai, Kabali etc (I know I know. I’ll watch soon :P). It was amidst this that ENM released. At first, I was unperturbed, but something in me kept pushing me to watch this movie. 3 months after the release, I went and watched it & I was never the same.

Prepare for a rollercoaster of emotions when you watch it. It is an intercaste love story unlike the cliched ones. I wrote a review on it and you can read it here:
A Heart Rending Tale of Love.

He looked at himself in the mirror. A few stray white hairs were beginning to show.  As someone said, time is a fickle friend. I wouldn’t say a ‘friend’ in this case.

Image result

It was a movie with a lot of promises and the movie makers kept their word. Must watch if you like Romantic movies sans cliched elements and cheesiness. For those who don’t know, Malayalam movies are a class apart.🙂

4. A Wednesday (Hindi) – Many of you must have watched it being a Bollywood flick. If you haven’t, this is another brilliantly written piece of work, well executed with some unexpected turn of events. If you are looking for something peppy, you won’t get it. This is a serious movie, the story of which takes place within a few hours. A remake of the same has been made in Tamil – Unaipol Oruvan.

It begins with an anonymous call to the City Commissioner of Police, demanding the release of four militants. The caller informs him of the bombs that have been planted at various parts of the city and they’d explode if his demands aren’t met. One explosion confirms that the anonymous caller was serious. Arrangements, for the release of the militants, are made but you wouldn’t expect what happens next. And no, there are no cliched elements involved.

Image result for A wednesday
Image courtesy: moviepark.in


The movie goes on to show what an individual could accomplish, if he has the will to.

So, if there are movies in this list you haven’t watched, I request you to please watch it. These are the kind of movies most of the people loved. So, even if you find them a bit boring at times, do watch till the end. I hope, I have the rest of your weekend covered.🙂

Disclaimer – A Few Handpicked Things does not take credits for any of the images in this post. If any of the images violate copyrights, please inform us and we’ll take it down.

I am taking my alexa rank to the next level with Blogchatter