As we walked through the platform, his hands brushed against mine. There were people everywhere, going in all directions. Some going towards the train, some away from it, some going up the stairs to the next platform. The railway station was buzzing with life. I wondered if it had been like this all the time. I was one among them, hurrying towards or away from trains, until yesterday. But today, I had come to see him off. So, I had all the time in the world and I saw the railway station for the first time. I really saw it.

Another brush of his fingers against mine. This time, I noticed a man pushing past him & running in a hurry. I gave him some more space so that he could leave enough space between him & the train for people to hurry past.


Enter a caption

Image courtesy: Wifflegif

“You really don’t have to go this early, you know!”, I said knowing only too well that he’d have to go. “Now that we have met after such a long time, we could spend some more time together and then, you could leave by the next or next to next train.”

“I wish. But I should reach there in time for the drinks.” he winked at me.

I mumbled, “Guys and drinks!”, smiling all the same.

“Alright listen! The train will leave any moment now. So, we’ll meet sometime soon.”

He extended his hand. I took it. When he held my hand for longer than usual, I tried pulling my hand away. He didn’t let me. He held my hand tightly and began pulling me towards him. I resisted and he whispered,

“I like the perfume you are wearing. What is it?”

I tried not to show the effort, of resisting his pull, on my face and mentioned casually, “Eternal love”. He eyed me for a while, gave a knowing smile and left my hand. He took his bag and together, we walked towards the train.

“Ok bye” he said and in two long strides, he got into the train. In the process, somehow his fingers brushed against mine for the third time. He looked at me and gave that knowing smile. I narrowed my eyes to let him know that it wasn’t appropriate. Again, his smile said he knew and that he didn’t bother if it was appropriate or not.

The train began to move, I turned and walked away, smiling to myself, wondering why sometimes the inappropriate things felt so good.

PS – This is a work of fiction that unfurled in my head.