100 Happy Days · Family and Friends · Life · Spread Smiles Series

Spread Smiles Series # 1

To know about the series, click Here

Appreciation – An Anecdote

I read a book named ‘How to Make Friends and Influence People’ by Dale Carnegie around 11 years back. Among many useful things, I learnt that ‘Appreciating’ people was important.

I walked into my workplace and saw someone wearing a nice shirt. I went to him, smiled and said,

“Hey! Nice shirt! It looks good on you.”

We were mere acquaintances until then. But from then on, we became friends. I wasn’t bluffing when I said about the shirt. I felt so and said genuinely.

Why Appreciate?

Many of us see something nice and think to ourselves about how beautiful it is. Something stops us from voicing out our feelings. We know that it gives them immense pleasure when we appreciate them. Yet, somethings like ‘Will they think I’m trying to attract their attention? What if he thinks too highly of himself?’ refrain us from saying it aloud. How will you know the person if you haven’t spoken to him yet?

Besides, the point is to appreciate without expecting anything in return. We do not lose anything by appreciating. So, let us do it. Whether we gain a friendship or more, we will know with time.

Slide3.JPG

Later…

A month after I began to appreciate, I received them in return. People began telling me how I looked beautiful that day, how my dress looked good, how they liked my hairstyle and never to wear that top again, it sucks! 😀 Yeah that too! For, a strong bond had formed.

The place rang with appreciations and mockery and we had become one huge family. I don’t take all the credits. Surely not. But, the appreciation part, the difference was right there before my eyes. 🙂

If you want to be a part of this series, you can take this up, write a post on the same, spread the word and feel free to use the image above. Let us spread smiles together.

Adding this to my 100 Happy Days Challenge – Day 83 because happiness is doing your share to spread smiles. 

16 thoughts on “Spread Smiles Series # 1

  1. Aren’t we shedding that hesitation in blogosphere, while we comment for the first time in someone’s blog.. 😉

    I remember the first time I was in your blog, I was afraid I might be taken as stalking you.. 😛 Coz I’ve been hitting like in quite few posts.. Now I know, that was a good thing, I dint hesitate then.. 😀

    This is a beautiful motive.. Do spread more smiles around.. And here are some handful of smiles to you and for spending out..
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a wonderful example. I didn’t think of it that way.
      Haha we all know that in the blogosphere, it isn’t stalking and yes I am glad you didn’t hesitate.

      Thank you for the encouragement. I was initially doubtful whether this would help anyone. But I decided to give it a try. Thanks for the smiles. Keep smiling 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the idea and I am a strong believer! I do try to appreciate as and when I can! Sometimes, I dial the wrong number but its OK.
    Will add it to my ‘posts-to-be-written’ list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved the part where you said it’s OK. I thought of adding it to the post. Then decided against it. Once people start appreciating, they’ll understand how wonderful it feels. Even if at times it doesn’t work well, they will know what to do, right? 🙂
      I’ll look forward to the post 😀

      Like

  3. I remember that book! Took it from my dad’s bookshelf and read it in highschool. It such great book. Anyway, I love this post. We tend to underestimate the power of a nice word. ☺

    Like

  4. Appreciation unlike condemnation does wonder. I too think the same, often hesitate to voice my opinion thinking and fearing that my words might be tagged as flattery but whenever i do appreciate i make sure am honest. As always great post.Thanks for sharing ❤

    Like

  5. I believe in appreciation. 🙂 Of course, it should be a genuine one, but I never hesitate to say good things to people if I feel that way. You are right to say, that creates a bond, an invisible but firm bond, a bond of happiness and sharing… 🙂

    A motivational post, dear… 🙂 🙂

    Like

  6. Loved your idea of #Appreciation! 🙂 Sometimes a single a single word can offer a long path that you have not ever imagine! I would surely like to become a part of this nice journey. 🙂 Will update my experience soon with above image! 😉 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

