Thumbormozhi and Athirappilly Episode

Our trip began with Ezhattumugham about which you can read here. This is the continuation of the trip.

3. Thumbormozhi

This is a butterfly garden situated next to Ezhattumugham. There is a separate entrance for the same. But if you are crossing the suspension bridge, it will take you to the backside of the park. When I heard about the place, I expected to see multicolored butterflies fluttering all around the garden. But, I was wrong. There were many brown butterflies and a few blue ones. The blues where enigmatic I must say.


You can see a lovely blue butterfly below. She was very hesitant to open her wings. I stood there for a long while expecting her to spread the wings with no luck.



The one at the rightmost corner is bold enough. The blue is still all tightened up.😀


4. Athirappilly Waterfalls

Known as the Niagara falls of India, Athirappilly waterfalls is the biggest one in Kerala. To see it close up you have quite a bit of walking to do. But in the end, it is totally worth it. Here are some glimpses of the path. There is a steep side through which we could reach the bottom really fast, but it is dangerous. For those who do not prefer that, there is a path laid from rocks. You will spot many monkeys on the way.



Bamboo fences.



After walking down for some time, we reached the waterfalls. The closer I got to the falls, the faster I walked. You cannot stop yourself when you see it so close! I sat there watching the water lash the rocks. I felt like I had reached the end of this world and the swirling white milky mist was a pathway to another more beautiful and enchanting world. If I could, I would have stayed there, watching the waters and feeling the cool sprays. It was sheer bliss.

The mighty misty waterfalls
The mighty misty waterfalls
The water turns into clouds they say🙂
Rocks basking in the love of water


A rather unclear picture of me on the rocks😛


This is how close you can go to the waterfalls. They don’t let us go beyond that rope. It is a very dangerous area and they might open the dam at any moment. They have written the warning in many places. There is another place where you are allowed to enter the waters. It is more shallow and safe.

A Proof that I was here and I took the pictures😛

At the end of the day, the image of the waterfalls is what lingered. It is definitely a heavenly place. If you are planning to go, ensure that you have enough time to sit on the rocks and enjoy the falls.🙂