100 Happy Days – Day 63

Do you know what happens when nieces come home?

They have fun with their cool aunt! That’s me. No publicity please!😛 Except, they call my mother aunt and hence I become their sister (chechi).

It so happened that my lovely cousin decided to bring her little devils (She’ll kill me if she reads this) home and they were restlessly waiting for their cool chechi. 8) Finally when chechi reached home, they had a number of games to play. But Super-chechi (Prefixed by chechi herself) lures them saying she will paint their nails.

They were too excited. They trotted behind me and I placed them on the bed. I fetched my nail colors box and asked them which one they wanted. The tiniest Fashionista said she wanted a different color in each nail and the elder one followed suit. I do not believe in clipping children’s wings and so, we decided to paint different colors that she chose. I don’t remember who that was, but one of them asked me for flower design on their nails. I was impressed. Kids these days are well updated on fashion.

I drew flowers for the little one. I asked the elder one if she wanted the same colors as her sister’s. She said yes first, then no. We decided to apply the same color. She chose the color she wanted. I applied it and put tiny hearts on them.



Next they wanted their toenails painted. That done, they wanted to paint my nails. I gave them the black color, they painted almost half my foot black, spilled polish on my bedsheet (old one :P) and then when I asked them to stop, they hesitated. I pretended to be angry and they looked at me with Puppy eyes and said, “So are you going to remove the paint from your legs?”

How could I say I was about to? I said no I wouldn’t and walked around the city and posh malls with black nail paint splattered on my 4 toes of my left foot and with absolutely no paint on my left leg toenails.

Strange world it is. Nobody ever noticed. Even if they did, I don’t think it makes a difference.🙂

There are two things I want to stress here;

  1. Whenever children ask for something, do something creative or voice an idea, if it is not harmful to anyone, if it doesn’t bring a black mark in their character, let them say, let them create, let them be themselves. Do not clip their wings. If they do what you say, you are simply creating another version of yourself. Let them be real and unique.
  2. Sometimes, we worry too much about unnecessary things. Chipped nails, a hair out of place, clothes not matching, not the right shade, yearning to be someone else, yearning for acceptance etc. Half the time, nobody cares. Rest of the time, they will keep commenting on whatever you do. In either case, their opinions do not matter. This advice is more towards myself than towards anyone else.