Family and Friends · Festivals, Occasions and Farewells

Thrikkarthika

I had begun the #100HappyDays challenge in July. But I couldn’t carry out the challenge the way it is supposed to be carried out. I missed a day or two in between and finally, when I had to study, I stopped it entirely.

Earlier, when something like this happened, I used to stop it midway only to start again. But this time, I decided that I would continue the challenge. Rules can be broken and when it is for the sake of something related to happiness, it doesn’t matter at all. Hence, here I continue the challenge:

Day 60

Happiness is Thrikkarthika/ Karthikai Vilakku

Due to my exams, I couldn’t celebrate Navaratri or Deepavali. So, when I realised that it was Karthika the day after exams, I decided I would celebrate it. Though we didn’t keep many lamps, the few we kept looked beautiful.

AkvUDN7NW3UJAsGrh328F330KgMVAO9X0D_Z2yojpajq.jpg

It looked all the more lovely with our neighbour’s set of lamps.

AvG3H0yQ4RJzGgTER0n3O47ZavNeJRwJce64QqWtr_if.jpg

My little friend from upstairs also joined me. We arranged the lamps, distributed sweets and then took lots of selfies. šŸ˜€

Just like Raksha Bandhan, during Karthikai, sisters pray for their brothers while brothers give gifts. I met a very good friend of mine and he gave me a gift that day. Since I do not have any brothers, I felt very happy.

Yet again, time proved that some things, no matter how tiny they are, mean a lot to us. The joy is always in the little things. šŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Thrikkarthika

  1. If you keep starting it again and again, you will never finish it šŸ˜€
    Btw, nice way to continue the whole thing šŸ™‚
    Did I tell you that the tiles of the first floor of our home look the same even though a little darker? šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly my thoughts. I’d just go over a 100 times restarting the challenge.

      Now that is another common thing between the witch and the Vampire šŸ˜€ Are you referring to the ivory tiles inside the apartment or the yellowish ones in the common area šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I never knew Rakshabandhan has another form too ! Nice to know Ranju … The illuminsted lamps are looking beautiful šŸ™‚
    Wishes for the happy day challenge šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

