To start with, here is a picture of the naughty butter boy Krishna shared by my College senior yesterday. This is the altar in her room and I couldn’t help but share this beauty.🙂

The Butter Boy :)
The Butter Boy🙂

100 Happy Days – Day 58

Happiness is the magnificent form of the Lord


We have a Krishna Temple nearby with the most one of the beautiful Krishna idols I have ever seen. On any normal day, there are a very few people around and it is so peaceful to simply stand and stare at that beautiful form. But don’t be fooled by his appearance. He is very very naughty. I had written about one of his pranks where he hid inside the Garbhagriha while making me wait for him. You can read our conversation here.😀

The specialty of this temple is that two old uncles sit before the deity and sing continuously for 2 hours every Thursday. They never fail in their duties. They have a book full of songs. Unmindful of the Shruti, Taalam or what the people would say, they offer flowers of music at his feet. I have always admired them. One evening, when I went with my sister, we saw a lady approaching the duo and asking something. This was followed by her son’s, a 5 year old child, bhajan.

My sister said, “I think anyone can sing here.”

“Yes, maybe.”

“Then why don’t you go and sing?”

“Aah no! I haven’t practiced and I’m very tensed.”

“Why? There is no one around.”

“Still. I’m scared.”

“Tell me seriously. Do you want to sing?”

“I do! But I don’t want people to see me. I don’t want them to know that I’m singing. I would sing if I were invisible. I prefer it that way.”

“Do whatever you want!”

I was feeling guilty now. I had a chance to sing in an auspicious place, right in front of my beloved deity and I was rejecting it. Ultimately, I ended up singing. People did notice and I did feel awkward. But I saved myself from the guilt I would have faced.

Yesterday I decided to pay a visit to him since it had been so long. Being a Thursday, an auspicious day for Lord Krishna, there were many people around. As I walked in, I couldn’t take my eyes off his majestic form.

Bathed in sandal paste,
glowing like gold,
coal black eyes
and celestial curves for lips.
One thick chain of gold,
above a garland made of lotus flowers.
An orange kanakaambaram lining
followed by the most fragrant jasmine.

As many more flowers adorned his body, my field of vision ended there since I was focused on that alluring smile. He just stood there.

“How could you look so magnificent?”

No Answer.

After drinking in his beauty, I began the circumambulation which was when I saw those two uncles singing. They weren’t sitting in their usual place. Instead, there was a huge hall next to the garbhagriha. No one could see inside unless they came close & peeped through the window or walked in. I couldn’t believe my eyes. I took another round and saw that there was no one else inside. I could sing without being noticed.

Here is the bhajan I sang. Hope you like it:

There was no conversation between me and the thief of hearts. Last time, we met, he showed me his pranks. This time, he proved that he actually listens and cares. I sang, got up and with no awkward conversations, I exited the temple premises in peace.🙂