100 Happy Days · Food · Kochi Diaries

Explosions in My Mouth

100 Happy Days – Day 57

Happiness is Thairvada! 😀

Thair/Dahi = Curd
Uzhunnu = Urad Daal
Vada = Vada 😛

I used to hate Uzhunnuvada. I did not like its taste and so, whenever Amma bought Vada, she bought Parippuvada for me.

I don’t remember when it happened, but one fine day I ate thairvada and I liked it. I wasn’t too fond of it. But didn’t mind eating them.

Soon after this, I left to Puttaparthi to complete my schooling. Those were the days of group studies and ‘night foods’. Since 10th & 12th class students had so much to study, we had a fifth meal which was our night food. We used to wait restlessly for the call and it used to come around 10 PM. We used to run to the dining hall excitedly.

Among other things, they gave us bread & malai, fruits and of course our topic of discussion – Thairvada (aka Dahivada)! We knew the Dahi vada day. If we had Idli & Vada for breakfast, that night’s ‘night food’ would be Dahi vada. They make extra vadas for breakfast & soak them in curd for the night.

As we walk in, we could see a lot of red adorning the white base. The chilly powder sprinkled atop the dahi looked delicious. The crispy vada soaked in curd simply exploded in our mouth. I can never forget the trays of vadas arranged neatly in the dining hall.

It has been very very long since I had Dahi vada. When my craving reached its peak, Amma bought some yesterday from Brindavan. 😀
I wasn’t satisfied by the looks and so, I sprinkled some chilly, chopped some coriander and garnished it.

image
Dahi vada with boondi

Don’t worry. It looks very enticing but it wasn’t that tasty 😦 But it was tasty enough for a Dahivada deprived tongue 😛

image
Side view of the model 😛

The best Dagi vada I have had in Kochi is from BTH (Kaloor Coffee House). Unfortunately, they closed down. If someone knows where I could get some instant, yummy Dahi vada, please let me know. I’ll think of you when I eat. Promise! 😀

29 thoughts on “Explosions in My Mouth

    1. Another invitation! That is so sweet 😀 Tell me your place and some day, I’ll plan visit. You are also welcome to my place when you visit Cochin 🙂

      Like

  1. Hehe… I don’t like Dahi. I find its smell very repelling. I remember only a few words in Tamil now, and one of them is the phrase: “Thair Illa.” Whenever I used to order chat, I had to mention it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh that’s my sister. She doesn’t even sit next to the Dahi vessel. She finds it very hard to keep a straight face.
      Haha that must have been a very important phrase for you 😀

      Like

  2. Mouth water-ingly good post 🙂 You can try gokul ottupura or dwarakka. In fact you can try the BTH near Shiva temple !
    shrutidshah.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Finally Jackpot! Yes, I totally forgot about Dwarka and Oottupura. I wasn’t counting on BTH at South. Somehow I got the feeling that it wouldn’t be as tasty as in Kaloor. I tried some from BTH in W.Island. Wasn’t good at all.
      Now that you have given so many options, I’m off. 😀 Thank you Shruti

      Like

    1. Me too me too! 😀 If there is only rice at home, I prefer curd. Whatever veg is prepared, I need curd. The mixture of curd & anything is heavenly! 😀

      Like

  3. Ranjuuuu,
    Do I see mixture on the dahi vada? 😛 I am also a paripuvada person, but ippo I love uzhunn vada too the crispy ones. And yes, the rasa vadas and sambhar vadas! Oh! Food food food. :-D. But the ones you get here arent so good. Back in tvm I used to go to arya nivas every sunday to have breakfast! Kothi aakua enik.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeps 😛 I have seen only the boondi. Mixture is a first.
      I think going away from home made you like Uzhunnu vadas. Thats what happened to me. 😛
      Rasam & sambar vada, me too! 😀
      Every Sunday oh?
      When u come to Kerala, we will go on a food spree 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

