Saturday, 1st August 2015 – National Girlfriends Day.

This post is dedicated to the four women in my life, my girlfriends and to all the strong and beautiful women out there. Also, to all the men who have been loving and supporting the women in their lives.

There is a notion in our society. If a person is a bit too hefty, they are bound to be bed-ridden, by the time they reach their forties. I hear my relatives say that someone in our family is so fat that he/she is bound to fall ill soon. People talk. A lot. But do they really make any sense?

Well, the point is, a friend of mine called me up one day and as we were discussing about his work, he said,

“I had to collect the health reports of the employees in the company. You will be surprised to know that the Cholesterol content is high among the ladies! I know many of them. I noticed two things: Firstly, most of them are around 23 to 26 years old. Secondly, most of them are slim.”

This conversation happened a couple of years ago and it had me thinking. I am slim. I fall into that age group. I could be one among them. This is the report of the cholesterol levels alone. What about all the other health conditions? What if we – My mother, sister, friends or I – are suffering from something? How will we know? How do we prevent them?

I wasn’t paranoid. My intentions aren’t to make you paranoid either. But, every now and then we hear news about people being diagnosed with cancer, heart & lung diseases, diabetes and many more diseases most of us haven’t even heard of. Instead of waiting around and doing nothing about it, why don’t we start with ourselves? The answers to all my questions have always been there, staring at us.

How do we prevent them? The obvious answers:

  • Well-balanced, healthy diet – Eating scantily is not the solution, eating healthy is. Due to fear of putting on weight, many starve themselves. Instead of reducing in size, the body weakens, immunity reduces and this attracts illness. Being a bit hefty is alright as long as you are healthy and your body receives ample nutrients. Give your body the right food in the right amount. The two words ‘Well-balanced” and “Healthy” are of utmost importance.
  • Exercise – It could be something as rigorous as the gym or yoga or as simple as a game of badminton or as aesthetic as a dance class. Even better, begin with subtle dance moves, gradually couple up with warming up exercises and then go hit the gym. Doing something where our body could shed some calories and get some movement is what we need.

How will we know? Three words:

  • Routine check up – Most of us have no idea about the routine check-ups that we should go for and so, here is a compilation of the same.

Oscar Insurance created an infographic for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s National Girlfriends Day. They’ve put together an outline of checkups women need, to make our health a priority throughout our lifetime. They have divided the checkups for each age group into 3 categories – Routine, conditional and immunizations. Go through this list and consult a doctor today itself.🙂

Oscar Women's CheckupsLRG

Oscar wants their members to be proactive and take charge of their health. They have many resources through their health insurance plans in New Jersey and New York, like their own app that allows easy access to your medical history and a Doctor on Call tool for any questions you may have.

If you find this post useful, kindly share it. Let us spread the importance of getting necessary check-ups and who knows, this might save someone’s life. 

I would like to thank Oscar Insurance for allowing me to share this infographic with all my friends.🙂