100 Happy Days · Childhood and Memories · Fashion · Women

Day 28 – Tiny Bottles of Colors

100 Happy Days – Day 28

Happiness is having nice nail polishes.

As a child I was very fond of nail paints. Those tiny bottles of colors could make me happy at any point of time. When I went to some of my relatives’ home, they would ask me if I wanted to apply nail paint and I would gladly agree.

One day, I went to a friend’s house. She took me to her room and I saw on her dressing table cute tiny bottles of nail paints arranged neatly. There were every possible colors and I secretly wished for a set like that. At that point of time, I just had a bottle or two of half dried up polishes at home.

Even now, I like buying nail polish for the sheer joy of choosing the colors. Whenever I go to the supermarket, I spend some time looking at the nail polish section and once satisfied, I leave. Buying isn’t mandatory.

A couple of months back, my best friend’s cousin who also happens to be my friend, went to Dubai. When she got back, she gave me a set of gradation polishes. I loved that thing for many reasons. That gift was unexpected, I loved the color, there was a glittering one which I’m fond of, gradation polish is a new thing for me & I like experimenting. But when I realized that I’ll have to use it, I was skeptical about it. Let me back up a little.

wpid-20150617_172358.jpg

I can draw, paint or sketch anywhere from walls to paper to hand to canvas to floor (It’s not what you think! :D). Anywhere, but nails. When I apply nail polish, I’m so impatient that it looks like I have smeared bright colored cowdung. 😛 No. I am not exaggerating. Many times, my roommates have pitied me and snatched the nail polish bottle and painted my nails themselves.

Since this involved applying 3 colors, I was doubtful about the outcome. So, after a long time, yesterday I decided to give it a try. And…

wpid-20150617_171913.jpg

…here is a long distance view of how it looks. Pretty right? 😀 Well, not so much when you see it close. I’ll show how exactly it looks from near.

wpid-20150617_171713.jpg

Since the polish is new, it was much easier for me to apply. And so, it didn’t turn out as bad as I assumed. The fashion freaks will identify the flaws. But the rest can tell me how beautiful this is. 😛

Until I got this set, I didn’t know how to apply shades. So I thought I’d help people who are like me.

How to bring the shaded effect:
-Apply 2 coats of shade 1 and let it dry.
-Apply shade 2 on the one-third portion of your nail as shown below.

wpid-20150617_172451-1.jpg

-Before it dries, apply shade 3 on two-third portion of the nail to blend in the shade 2 polish. Refer above image.

That is all. Your gradation polish is ready. You can use the compatible shades you already have. Just ensure that shade 3 is transparent, with or without glitters.

Until you try this on, kindly bear with me flaunting my new nail polish. Yay! Look at my nails! 😀

20150617_171736

2 thoughts on “Day 28 – Tiny Bottles of Colors

Leave a Reply

