100 Happy Days

Day 17 – Watching Sitcoms

100 Happy Days – Day 17

Happiness is watching sitcoms.

And when they happen to be F.R.I.E.N.D.S, there is no stopping me! It so happens that always, I decide to watch just one episode and end up watching them for hours together. The series that revolves around 6 friends, was aired for around 10 years from 1994 to 2004. I began watching sitcoms barely 2 years ago. I haven’t watched many, but as I watch Friends, I see why people say that the series has been THE best.

Source

I began watching sitcoms with How I Met Your Mother. I was blown away right from the first episode. Needless to say, I felt very sad that it ended. Since many were saying that Friends was much better than HIMYM, I decided to give it a try. However, after a few episodes, I couldn’t watch it anymore. Somehow, HIMYM had set a standard. Besides, Friends’ beginning isn’t as peppy as HIMYM’s. So, I kept it aside and watched other Sitcoms until that unfortunate (read now fortunate) day came by. I had nothing else to watch! That was when I started off with Friends again. BAM! And I fell in love with them.

Source

Even though it has been 10 years since the series ended, I can relate to all that happens in it even now. Which means, they have kept it so real so as to be relatable to us even today. Most of the times, I fall laughing listening to the things they say. Though I haven’t finished many seasons, I already worry what I’d do when it gets over. I worry that I wouldn’t enjoy anything as much as this.

Whatever the worries, once I click on the play button, I get the laughing therapy. Many of my friends haven’t watched the series yet. Many of you might have not. I know that most of us can’t simply begin a habit just because someone is telling us to. But I would still say. If you haven’t watched it, do give it a try. I assure you, you won’t be disappointed. It is a laughing therapy everyone needs.

Source

14 thoughts on “Day 17 – Watching Sitcoms

  1. Haha… 5 years of college, out of which half must have been entirely devoted to Friends, and related talks, not to mention the references we gave for the next few years… Certainly the best I came across.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. FRIENDS is like the standard stress buster for all of us. I started my sitcom journey with it and I am in eternal love with it. The key factor that makes it so irresistible is that they have made it so simply relatable for everyone, in any age and at any time.

    HIMYM was a different story for me. I loved it till 5 seasons then slowly started getting bored because there was too much of the same flavor.And like many others, I hated how it ended.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is one series that I have watched on repeat I don’t know how many times! I began watching it right from when it started in India and I still watch it. And oh yeah, the same happens with me, 10 p.m and I say “ok, let’s watch just 2 episodes and go to sleep” and before I even know it, it’s 2 a.m πŸ˜€ very addictive stuff!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Oh Good Lord. A post on F.R.I.E.N.D.S makes it irresistible for me to comment. Well yeah my sitcom starter was F.R.I.E.N.D.S. I have loved it to such bits that I watched the 10 seasons in some two months. (Note that it was not a vacation time) Even now watching F.R.I.E.N.D.S is the ultimatum when it comes to stress relief. Its such a classic. My favourites are the fourth Fifth and sixth seasons. We even have this way of conversation with F.R.I.E.N.D.S dialogues among our friends.And you slowly start relating yourself to the characters. Well yeah I am the classic Monica. Well I did try HIMYM but beyond fifth was horrible and I somehow managed to finish it off for the sake of finishing. (Hats off to my OCD) BigBang theory never even came close to F.R.I.E.N.D.S. I am right now watching Seinfeld, but I tell you its the next level stuff. All I can conclude is that watching F.R.I.E.N.D.S would be the one decision anybody would never regret in their Life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right!? πŸ˜€ I have been trying to get a friend to watch it. But she just doesn’t understand. Not watching F.R.I.E.N.D.S is like missing something big. My sister and I keep repeating the dialogues and laugh our heads off. My character is more close to Phoebe. My sister on the other hand, is closer to Rachel’s character. πŸ™‚

      It is good to know how you feel about F.R.I.E.N.D.S and your comment made me all excited. We will always be united by F.R.I.E.N.D.S πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

