100 Happy Days · Kochi Diaries

Day 5 – When The Needle Crosses The Line

100 Happy Days – Day 5

Happiness is a full tank

Being a student who has been earning in early four digits for a while, I had worked in one of the big fours for a very short period before my exams. I was an intern & I had to resign for the sake of my exams.

That was the first time I had seen that kind of a number in my bank statement and to be frank, I was flying high. It wasn’t too high, but higher than before. I had saved a small portion to use them after my exams. Well, guess what I did!?

image

After a long long time, I went for a full tank. I don’t remember when was the last time I saw the fuel reach near the brim. I am sure it never happened in the last 2 years. I alternated between fuelling for 50 or 100 bucks and I did that only when I was sure that my Lavy was running on her last few drops of petrol.

But this time, I saw the petrol rise almost upto the brim with my own eyes. As I turned my Lavy on, I watched the needle cover the entire, long distance from that E to that F. It was a curve, like a smile. As though she just smiled. I felt like I had just flown to the other end of the world. Oh! The feeling.

I sat there for a while, looking at the needle’s position. Not everyday can I see her cross that line. I don’t know when I’ll see that again.

I don’t know about people who have well paid jobs & who are well ahead in life. I do not know if they feel this kind of joy seeing that needle cross the line. Do they have the time? Will I have the time? Will I have this joy even then? I don’t want to lose this. These little joys in life. I want to keep them & feel them always.

This #100HappyDays might help me keep them. Some day, when I come back & read this, I will know how far I have come in life & whether the journey did me good or not.

What do you think? Do you feel such happiness? Can you tell me if I will? šŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Day 5 – When The Needle Crosses The Line

  1. Ah, my beautiful, silly girl.. Leave aside the petrol, best thing is that your emotions are conveyed to me in best form.
    This line, that word; your words explain the heart like a mirror. *Pats back*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Is it a Hero Honda Pleasure? I always go for 100rs petrol or 90rs if I need 10rs as balance šŸ˜€

    The “last few drops of petrol” theory becomes risky in my driving area – less petrol pumps and some of them left with no petrol stock šŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep it is a Hero ‘Lavender’ pleasure šŸ˜› my Lavy! I always go for Rs. 100 or Rs. 50. But that day, I went for a whopping 300 šŸ˜› I was sure my Lavy wouldn’t see that kinda money in the near future šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

