“There is a will you shave campaign given Blogadda”, I said.

“What is it about?”, my sister asked. I explained it to her.

“I really have no idea what to write. Any suggestions?”

“Hm.. Let me think.”

I pondered over the topic days together. I know a couple of friends who have beards that look like honeycomb.😛 I know women who like men with stubbles. But I didn’t know of anyone who lost an opportunity due to an unshaven face. The reason being, most of the men know when to keep their face well shaved.😉

Finally, I decided that a solution for this could be found only with the men. I began asking some of them. Few of them didn’t have any inputs to give me. Some tried but I was not satisfied with the anecdotes they gave. Finally, I called up T a good weird friend of mine. The irony is that, he has been following “No Shave November”. He is the type of person who has sensible things to say about almost every topic. I must mention the fact that he is weird because, well, you will see soon.

“Alright, can you send me the details of this activity? I’ll tell my experiences depending upon the requirement.”

“Sure! I’ll forward the mail right away.”, I said relieved.

“By when do you need it?”

“Tonight, or maximum by tomorrow morning.”


After about half an hour, he called me up.

I have the right story for you. And I’ll give it to you. But, on one condition.”

“What is it?”

“You have to have coffee with me.”

“Sure. You could have simply asked. We’ll meet tomorrow.”

“No. we meet today. And that is when I am giving you the story.”

He did sound weird, yet I knew his weirdness well, “Alright boss!”


Image courtesy: http://wallpaperest.com/

I walked into the cafe he had suggested. I searched around for T, but couldn’t find him. When I had called up, he had said that he reached there. As I was about to dial his number, a hand went up from a table. A tall, lean guy was waving at me. I spotted him sitting in a corner table. The dimly lit, comfortable corner of the cafe. Unable to believe my eyes, I walked towards the table and he got up.

“I-I couldn’t recognize you.”, I said wide eyed.

“Take your seat my lady!”, he gave his crooked smile.

He had shaved his beard and he looked like a college kid. I was expecting the messy bearded guy and so was bewildered to see him looking so young. We began conversing about why he had shaved his beard and then the topics just kept changing. We ordered a Hot Chocolate and a Caramel Spice Latte.

After about two hours, “Hey! I almost forgot. You said you will tell me a story!?”

“Hehe that is my charm. I will tell you the story, provided you accept this to be a date.”

I was expressionless.

“This could be a date only if you had said so in advance.”, I gave my crooked smile now.

Umm… Alright, the story. I have this friend. She is kind of as weird as I am. Our talks vary from chocolates and candies to philosophy, nature of the soul, Prapancha etc. It so happened that I once asked her whether she will come out on a date with me. The question was purely for fun. She said, if you shave your beard, I’ll come.”

Then he looked at me and smiled.

“And then?”

He sat there smiling. And the truth dawned on me.

“There! you have your story. But only if you accept this to be a date.”, he beamed.


That is how. dear friends, T asked me out just for fun a year ago. I mocked him pointing at his beard. He left the topic then and there. Finally, he did what I said and of course! it was a date.😛 He hit jackpot, because of his well groomed look didn’t he?😉

This post is a part of #WillYouShave activity at BlogAdda in association with Gillette

I tag

1. Raman,

2. Upen

3. Achu

4. Syed Ajaz Ahmed

5. Asmithaa

6. Kokila

7. Tanveer Rauf

8. Christy Bharath

to take up the challenge. If anyone else is interested, please feel free to blog on the following topics🙂

Topics for Guys:

  • Missed chances- Stories or instances where you missed out on an opportunity because of a non-shaven face.
  • Luck or Confidence?- Will you leave your fate in the hands of destiny or will you step up and say yes to a well-groomed face to be at your best everyday? #WillYouShave.
Topics for Girls
  • An instance when a stubble came in the way of a man’s chance to make a good impression.
  • An instance when a well groomed look ensured that they struck gold on an opportunity given to them.

I understand that some of you are pro-stubbles. So you may accept or reject the challenge. It is up to you. But if you do accept, don’t forget to acknowledge me in your posts.🙂