Hailing from Kerala, situated at the Southernmost part of India, I was watching all the Diwali happiness happening around the country with delight. The shopping sites seem to be celebrating them more that anyone else with offers over offers. I believe it all began with the Big Billion Day sale after which each of the sites continued the trend of ‘discounts every hour’. Even I did some shopping at very low discounted rates.

You must have noticed that I mentioned I’m from Kerala. There is a reason. Well, like most of the North Indians wouldn’t know, Diwali isn’t so big down here. I have heard that it all starts with a cleaning bout and ends with spending many hours of time together with family. Diwali in North is huge! But here, maybe, some of them celebrate Diwali. Andd that too, on the day of Diwali, we just light lamps around our house, buy some sweets and burst crackers. That is it. Diwali does not come under the 1st category of priority here.🙂

So, the memory I have of my Diwali at home is that, many years back, we lit candles all around the house -on the terrace walls too! The house looked heavenly from far. I really understood the joy of lighting up our home. Another diwali, mom bought many many sweets that I was in seventh heaven. And they were some crackers too. That is it.🙂

But my most memorable Diwali was in my school. I was studying in Sri Satya Sai Higher Secondary School, Andhra Pradesh. At night, the entire hostel was out lighting crackers. Around our school, there were other affiliated institutes too. Since all were celebrating around, the sky just lit up. The entire sky was putting up a lovely, colorful theatrical show. I dropped all my crackers and looked up. I stood there watching the beauty I can’t put into words. For a moment I thanked the heavens for the experience. It was so delightful that after sometime, my neck was aching after looking up for so long.😛

Isn’t it amazing how one festival is celebrated in different ways all over the country?

Every Diwali invariably, my cousin’s wife who is a Gujarati, settled in US, sends a Diwali greeting to us.🙂 We realise it is Diwali when their greeting arrives. Yesterday, it arrived and it had a cute Goddess’ picture on it. And guess what? The Goddess was blushing. On another side, there was the picture of their children. The little one looked so cute.😀

Well, that is all folks! About my Diwali. Personally, I love celebrating every festival. And I envy the North Indians for all the gaiety with which they celebrate Ganesh Chathurthi, Holi, Dussehra etc. And it is one of my wishes to celebrate all this in some Northern states. I just love our country for its diversity!😀

In the end, a note. I just have a request to make to you all. I am not against anyone’s enjoyment. But if possible, please say NO to crackers. It might be difficult to stop it all of a sudden. At least say No to loud crackers. When I suggested this to a friend, he called me a ‘Sadaachari’. Whatever that means, please don’t wait for the PM of India to start a movement. Start it with you if you feel it is right. The world needs kind people and not more pollution. Spare the ones with breathing problems and let us be more considerate to the dogs who are our loyal friends. Thanks!🙂


This post is a part of Gharwali Diwali