I pass by the street and talk to a vendor.
He might have peeked at my bosom.
But, it would enrage me to know his perverted thoughts.

I advise my little sister.
She nods away and soon ignores me.
But, I’d be upset if I knew she thought I was annoying.

I tell my boyfriend how much I love him.
He might be losing interest in me.
But, it would shatter me if I could read every thought in his mind then.

I tell my parents that I failed again.
They smile and say it is okay.
But, I’d never be happy if I could see their pain.

I am given a magic chip.
I can read anybody’s mind, and there is no off button.
You now know why I don’t want it.

A mad scientist friend offers you a chip that would allow you to know what the people you are talking to are thinking. The catch: You can’t turn it off. Do you accept the chip?


Prompt by Daily post.