Close your eyes (er not literally, you have to go on reading this). And imagine you are in a room. It is dusty and old with cobwebs hanging here and there. You have no idea how big orsmall it is because you are flanked by tall racks. The ceiling is far atop and before you there is one small window through which the sunlight is filtering in. There are no sounds to be heard except that of the ceiling fans creaking noisily somewhere, probably two or ten of them.

As you turn to ur right or left (I leave that to you), you see the racks filled with books. Hundreds of thousands of them. Some old, some very old, torn & yellowing. Arranged neatly along in alphabetical order. And the room smells of books.


😀 I love books but I sneeze when I smell them. Still, I love the smell.

The imagination session is over. And I know some of you reading this will be revolted at the idea of a room full of books. Your first instinct would be to flee. But there is another half who are still enjoying the vision. Those who feel at home when they are in such a room. Must say, book lovers are distinct species of humans whose feelings towards books cant be understood by anyone else.

When I enter a library, I prefer taking a list with me, asking the people there to pick the books I want and walk out. If those books aren’t available I am doomed. I’ll have to find and pick one myself & going near the racks is like going for shopping where you are allowed to take only two garments while you’re confused between too many. I run around picking every possible book, unable to decide which one.

Reading books is like drinking alcohol ( I feel so, from hearsay about drinks. No personal experiences :D). At first you don’t enjoy it much, you take time to get used to the flow of it. Slowly, you lose yourself in it & come under the control of it. Then your mood, temperament, thoughts are all affected by what is in your hand. It rules you. You forget all your other worries, your problems and the reality. You feel this is much better than the reality.

The truth is, most of the readers use books as a means to escape from reality. (Like drunkards) Sometimes when being yourself hurts, you choose to be someone else even if that means being your favorite character from a book. As each of the pages get over, we get all the more tempted to reach the end & the book gets irresistible. And once it gets over, there is a satisfaction about knowing the end at the same time a strange sadness that the story is over.

During the Harry Potter book releases, there were advance bookings and queues outside bookshops all over the world for grabbing the book & being the first ones to read. People queuing outside beverage shop is a day to day sight. What a striking similarity.  :D


Jeez! I know I sound like categorizing the two species into one. But I found the similarities amusing and just expressed it in here. ‘Drinking is injurious to health’. Most of the addictions are. But Lo and Behold! We have one that isn’t hazardous. This can also be used as an alternative to alcohol as I have pointed out😛.

Image courtesy:,