7.30 PM – Rain – A steaming cup of tea.
I’m very happy today after a really bad week. Or maybe it has been ages since I’ve felt so good, a warmth and calmness within myself. The credit goes to Vidya, Neetu and Anu 
My college friends. Speaking of college, it was the best 3 years of my life so far.

Today suddenly I decided to go meet them at their college hostel. And so I reached there by 10.30 am and from the cheery welcome then to my reluctant goodbye in the evening at around 6.00 pm, time just flew.

A few biscuits for my empty stomach and a cup of electric-cooker-made coffee reminded me of one thing. Of the ice creams I rarely had after college. Ice creams weren’t my priorities. But at college one ice cream shared by 4 -8 of us, was something I would never miss. Biscuits weren’t something I preferred. But in their company, it tasted yumm..

As usual when we got together I became myself again, that ‘Me’, only my college mates had the good fortune to see. A different person altogether. I was hyper-animated, imitated everyone I ever knew, talked about all the things I never spoke of for so long, definitely bored them a bit giving details of my difficult times at work- I know they’ll forgive me for that. They told me their stories at college, we discussed about everything we used to discuss when we were once together.

We confessed about the pranks we played, of the pranks we knew others had played, of the tough and lovely times, of the exams and holidays, of seniors and juniors, of our lord. The way we used to make plans at college that one day we would visit each others’ homes, similarly, we planned that one day we’ll visit our college.

I didn’t even realize it was lunch time. We all went out, had lunch and walked back to hostel. My plans were to leave after lunch. But the dark rooms and the gloomy atmosphere gave the old ‘hostel’ feeling and we became our old four atp selves again and talked and talked and talked. I was already getting warning messages from my sis at home and yet I hung on till evening. They got tea for me from the mess. Yet again reminded me of how we were not allowed to get anything out of the dining hall at college and how some of us used to sneak things out.

After a while, I said, I have to leave. They would never know what I felt then. I said that and I sat there again for an hour or so, and I knew that if allowed, I’d sit there for ages together. A sudden decision and I startled them by jumping out of the bed, put on my slippers and said a hurried bye. They walked me to where my activa was. Anu knows about the high standard brake that it has. It’s designed to stop approximately one km after the brakes are used😉. And so she asked me to show how the brake functions. I was supposed to put the brakes when I reached a certain tree. ‘Silly’ I thought. ‘As if I would do that’. That was just a part of the silly talks and suggestions we used to have.

I started it and took off. As I reached the tree, my hands on their own held the brakes and as usual, the activa stopped after 2 mtrs or so. I turned back, looked at them and I smiled while they gave me the go signal. I smiled at myself and at them. However silly their wishes were I’d always do anything for them. That’s how it always has been and will be.

I’m back at home now and I miss them. My throat has gone sore. As I sit alone now, I realize it was a day, a company that I badly needed.