I could feel how intensely aware she was of the hand in mine. There was an emotion slowly building in her that I didn’t recognize. something on the edge of anger, with a hint of desire and a portion of despair.

‘Jealousy’ she enlightened me.

After long, really really long, I read. No! I drank with my heart and soul. Dived into the depths of a book so beautiful, meaningful, so true and touching. Every emotion carved into words so aptly that one may think the emotions were born after she wrote the words. If you get what I mean. You know! I’m no Stephenie Meyer!😉

I’m a person who always adored everything unreal. Fictions were always my Favorite – Magic, witches & wizards, Vampires and now aliens! The Host is no exception. But what caught my attention is the reality that has been depicted in it.

Melanie – in whose body the alien dwells – doesn’t give up. She fights! For her little brother, Jamie and her love , Jared. She survives out of the power of her love and though she hates the soul that has conquered her, ultimately, they turn out to like each other. The occasional glimpse of her memories and dreams gets the alien falling in love with Melanie’s loved ones and together they set out in search of Jared and Jamie.

The alien falls in love with not just Jared and Jamie but with the humanity as a whole. It adores the Homo sapiens more than any other alien bodies it has conquered so far. It gets baffled by the varied human emotions, instincts, expressions, dilemma etc that it has never witnessed elsewhere.

Though their search yields fruit, they face many life threatening situations and as days pass by, the alien soul gets an admirer for herself – Ian. The boundless love between the human and the alien simply proves that love has  no boundaries.It realizes that it has to sacrifice it’s life for all the loved ones in this beautiful place called earth. For all the new friends made, for the new love found, for everything it never had till now, the price to be paid was self sacrifice.

I had lived in so many bodies, but never one I loved like this. Never one that I craved in this way. Of course, this would be the one I’d have to give up.

I have seen many paintings, read a few books and watched a number of movies. But came across nothing as real as this. I am a person who believes that no feelings can ever be put to words. Words may help you say what you feel. But never helps you say how much you feel. The intensity remains in your heart. Now, I must say that Stephenie Meyer has magic in her words. Though I still stick to my belief, I’m truly awed by the way she has expressed so many unspeakable feelings.

Later… Happy and sad, elated and miserable, secured and afraid, loved and  denied, patient and angry, peaceful and wild, complete and empty… all of it. I would feel everything.

Though the book is all about Melanie and the soul, I fell in love with Ian – the best guy ever!

The Host – The one among the best books I ever read. Thanks to Stephenie Meyer.